Street Vendor

Cigarette Vendor

We were stuck in a traffic jam in Dhaka a while ago and we have plenty of those :D. I looked around and took a few photographs of cart pullers, rickshaws and street vendors. This cigarette vendor was on the pavement a few cars away waiting for his next customer. Smoking is fairly popular here in Bangladesh and on just a short stretch you’ll find several such cigarette vendors.  They have a couple of empty soft drink cartons stacked and a glass box to hold the stock and display it.

The number of photographs I’m taking of the streets and the people has dwindled to zero 😦 As of this morning my husbands camera (it’s smaller) has been appropriated and I intend to take many more.

I’ve noticed that in almost all my drawings and painting the focus is on either a face or a person and the background is completely ignored. For this one I decided to add the background. It got overworked and I’ll be trying it out again.

Published by Ujwala

I guess I would have to classify myself as a “self taught” artist not having an MFA or a BFA degree. I am a happy mix of self learning and a bit more formally from artists in workshops and institutions. And after over 15 years of figuring things out, I wouldn’t want it any other way! The journey of understanding and making art, for me, is a continuous learning process: Improving existing skills, learning new ones and most of all growing with the experience. Drawing and painting are an integral part of my life, something I am passionate about. The blogs, Maya & draw the line, document the road traveled thus far. People, their moods, interactions and emotions are an ongoing source of curiosity and interest. What I’m searching for is their inner personalities, their thoughts and there are stories I build around them as I work. I like portraying feelings of people when they are alone, lost in their thoughts, caught unawares. Those are the special moments that appeal to me most. I love to experiment and use a variety of medium ranging from oil, charcoal, printmaking, clay to the digital medium. Regardless, my focus remains fixed on the human form.

8 thoughts on “Street Vendor

  1. Just looking around at other art blogs. I like yours – and you’re in India, which makes it even more interesting. I just started mine, but I’m in dreary Chicago.

  2. I like the integration with the background – you should do more like this 🙂

    The abstract shapes of it are really good, the whole balance of the piece – and again those lovely free lively marks when you draw 🙂

Leave a comment