Found the link to this great article on the blog, The Accidental Artist. David Pink has written a very interesting article “What kind of a genius are you?” for Wired. It is about David Galenson’s research on creativity and how he sorts people into two types, essentially – early geniuses (conceptualists) and late bloomers (experimentalists). Galenson has concentrated on the field of art. His research focuses on artists, their work, the money they commanded and the age at which it peaked.

Pablo Picasso (1881-1973) – Les Demoiselles d’Avignon. 1907. Oil on canvas.

Paul Cezzane (1839-1906) – The Smoker. Oil on canvas. c. 1895-1900. Oil on canvas.

avignon.jpg cezanne47-copy.JPG

Picasso and Cézanne represent radically different approaches to creation. Picasso thought through his works carefully before he put brush to paper. Like most conceptualists, he figured out in advance what he was trying to create. The underlying idea was what mattered; the rest was mere execution. The hallmark of conceptualists is certainty. They know what they want. And they know when they’ve created it. Cézanne was different. He rarely preconceived a work. He figured out what he was painting by actually painting it. “Picasso signed virtually everything he ever did immediately,” Galenson says. “Cézanne signed less than 10 percent.” Experimentalists never know when their work is finished.Galenson says. “But from very early in my career, I knew I could do really good work. I didn’t know exactly how, and I didn’t know when. I just had this vague feeling that my work was going to improve.”

You can see few artists listed by type. If you read the article let me know if you think you veer towards either of these types. Since I cant be a young genius at my age, i’m hoping that I’m an experimentalist 😀

