Colourful Rickshaws

Colorful Rickshaws

I grew up in Kolkata, a city with hand pulled Rickshaws. I must’ve sat in one just once and my friend pulled me along up and down the road to her house for a lark! At that point there were a few other cities with hand pulled rickshaws but they were soon upgraded to cycle rickshaws. In Kolkata, they are still being used but there is talk of converting them to Cycle Rickshaws. I hope that they are able to rehabilitate the Rickshaw pullers in a timely manner without loss of income.

We have now moved to Bangladesh which is known for its colourful Cycle Rickshaws and Rickshaw Art. These Rickshaws are on my list of could be series of paintings. There were 3 people sitting in this Rickshaw which is meant to be a single seater and yet the driver seemed to be moving it along effortlessly. The reference photograph was taken with the hope of making a painting. I’ll consider this pen and wash to be a study for a larger piece. One thing that I can see is that I need a few lessons in perspective and proportion 😀 I like the colourfulness of this effort.

8″ X 10″ Pen and Goauche wash in my sketchbook.

Published by Ujwala

I guess I would have to classify myself as a “self taught” artist not having an MFA or a BFA degree. I am a happy mix of self learning and a bit more formally from artists in workshops and institutions. And after over 15 years of figuring things out, I wouldn’t want it any other way! The journey of understanding and making art, for me, is a continuous learning process: Improving existing skills, learning new ones and most of all growing with the experience. Drawing and painting are an integral part of my life, something I am passionate about. The blogs, Maya & draw the line, document the road traveled thus far. People, their moods, interactions and emotions are an ongoing source of curiosity and interest. What I’m searching for is their inner personalities, their thoughts and there are stories I build around them as I work. I like portraying feelings of people when they are alone, lost in their thoughts, caught unawares. Those are the special moments that appeal to me most. I love to experiment and use a variety of medium ranging from oil, charcoal, printmaking, clay to the digital medium. Regardless, my focus remains fixed on the human form.

10 thoughts on “Colourful Rickshaws

  1. This is just fantastic!! Everything about it is charming – the colours, the technique, and the angle you have chosen. Great job!
    I have a fascination for rickshaws too!

  2. Wonderful!, I like the “airy” quality of it since you havent drawn a backgriound. And certainly, these typical vehicles are always interesting to people that have not seen one in their whole lives. The colorful
    environment is pleasing to my eyes and I like to see and learn of other cultures. So is the vendor on the street, I loved the very black background on the right on that one an dteh colorful details on his stand.

Leave a comment