self portrait

In December, the Standard Chartered Bank opened an art gallery in its main branch to encourage upcoming artists by showcasing their work.  My friend Smita Srivastava and I decided to take advantage of this opportunity.  You are invited to our very first exhibition together, “Friends and Faces” from March 16th to 31st at the Standard Chartered Bank, 67, Gulshan Avenue, Dhaka.

For the time being I’ve decided not to offer my work for sale. The tricky question of pricing has been neatly side-stepped temporarily.

The gallery is small and can accommodate about 20 large paintings. The step of selecting the ones to display are over and now 3 are ready, 4 of them are with the framer and the last lot waiting to be signed before being framed. We’ve been talking about an exhibition together for 6 months now and are thrilled to realize it.

Self Portrait : 12″ X 14″ with charcoal on brown paper.

Update : While mentioning to a friend that I looked as though I’d been cleaning a chimney I got the name for this piece. She said that it was a bit early for being a “Santa’s helper”. That is going to be the title for this one then. Santa’s Helper.

