My father-in-law 2

Father-in-law 2 Final

I’ve made several sketches of my father-in-law from life but those haven’t been posted (as yet). He’s a real sport and will hold a pose patiently. He’s good at drawing too and great at encouraging.  And he doesn’t mind if his nose is drawn a bit too long or chin too wide. I have to say that my Dad is the same. My first attempt at drawing him using a reference was digital and you can see it here.

During my last to last visit to Chennai he had acquired one of those extra zoom digital cameras and I got to test it by taking portraits of the family. I’m sure he’ll admit to the fact that they all heaved a collective sigh of relief when I was ready to hand it back. I got quite a few decent ones though. Those of my husband and his brother have been used already. This is the 3rd from that set.

Here he was watching me read the manual (yes, i’m a bit nerdy :D) and take photos at different settings. In this piece, his left eye still needs fixing and I will attend to it soon. The initial drawing took about half an hour but then I spent a couple of days making minor changes and it still isnt finished!!

Charcoal on 10″ x 12″ handmade paper.

9 thoughts on “My father-in-law 2

  1. You leave me breathless! Thank you so much for your comment on my blog which brought me to yours. You are amazing! I wish I could come and sketch with you, I would learn so much!

  2. Thank you mARTa and Kay. I would love some company too. Friends have yet to return from the long summer break and so drawing for last two months has become a solitary pleasure.

  3. Yes, my wife and I are proud in-laws! And our son is very lucky.
    Thanks, Ujwala, for the fine drawing and the nice words.

Leave a Reply

