Lady from Ashulia

Shy

One more from the exciting references provided by Anil after our road trip to Ashulia. He’s been a gem and has allowed me to use any of them for my art. The paper has been provided by another friend, Kuhu, who is a well known figurative artist and designer, in Bangladesh. This is the largest portrait that I’ve worked on to date.

I’m planning to work on my art resolutions for the year and anticipate longer gaps between posts here. However, posts on my other blog draw the line should go up dramatically 😀

Mixed Media (charcoal and acrylics) on 30″ X 36″ toned paper.

Update: August 6, 2007: I couldnt leave it alone 😦 Wanted to tone down the charcoal in some areas but it came off completely. Tried adding some back but the remaining charcoal sticks didnt match the colour or texture of the original and left dark scratches on the paper. Finally found the charcoal sticks – Pebeo’s Charcoal Sticks superior-extra smooth and it is!! Just not as black as the others. I cant even remember where these were picked up and now only 3 remain in the box of 5. Here’s where I’ve stopped for the moment. Find that I liked the earlier version more as it was spontaneous. Cant go back to it so i’m going to try some more.

ashulia lady

4 thoughts on “Lady from Ashulia

  1. Hi Ujwala,
    Thankyou for stopping on my blog, and for your comment. I have enjoyed readin g your blog too, and really like the expression in this portrait, also I really like the lino cut, very expressive too.

  2. Thank you Sally 😀 I’ve put in a bit more work on this one and not very successfully because I finished the first piece of charcoal and the rest in my box dont seem to match the first! I find that signing a piece does not necessarily stop me from fiddling with it at a later time. Usually with paintings this trick does work.

Leave a Reply

