Portrait in Pencil

marco mantovani

It had been a while since I last made a drawing and so I pulled out this magazine I had set aside. It had a few photographs that had caught my attention. I had picked up the The Peak while holidaying recently, in Kota Kinabalu, expecting to make some drawings at the airport. I never got around to it then but it came in handy tonight.

In these past 20 years since I left school it was usually a portrait photograph in a magazine that caught my attention and compelled me to sit down and draw it. Or a photograph of a friend. Either the smile or the angle or just because I liked them something would set it off.  This didnt happen often maybe once every 3-4 years.  Off late I use mostly my own photographs to copy because of all the problems associated with using others references.

But without doubt there are some exceptional photographs that tempt you and ones that I’d never be able to take. These I set aside to learn from, to try and take my own photograph from a similar angle or with similar lighting. I have yet to do that though. I’m a pack rat and a very good one at that.  You should see my collection!  However if the urge is strong sometimes I just give in and copy. And  95% or more of what I do is put up either in these blogs or Flickr.

Sadly, this was not one of those exceptional ones though I did like his smile. It was late at night, I was already in bed and determined to draw something anything. That very smile looks a bit manic here but that’s mostly to do with my drawing skills. I’ve noticed that my current favourite is painting and drawing has been put back on the shelf.  I hope I can get back to doing both.

Leave a Reply

