Black Box Invention – It eats money

invention3

After hearing what my husband had to say and few other comments that I received, I realised that I had not expressed my thoughts adequately in the painting above. Not that I am any better with words but I would like to give it a try.

Background: Eleven years of work experience followed by six years of unemployment. Most of these out of choice. I realised that I did not want to go back. Four of the last 6 years has been spent looking for the one thing that would provide enjoyment and a little income. When over 2 years ago I rediscovered my love of drawing I decided that this had potential. Draw, paint and sculpt. Put in a couple of years and see if there was a possibility of earning some money. At least enough to cover the art supplies and book expenses.

It’s been well over two years now and of late this thought has been on my mind. Yesterday I saw it come out as a painting. The painting above started as an illustration for this weeks topic “invention” on Illustration Friday. Normally the drawings made for these challenges are single objects or standalones. Yesterday, I proceeded along the same lines with an idea of a box but I got lost in its making and it took a life of its own. I felt I had more to say and just the box on it own was not enough.

Invention: The black box eats a lot of money and occasionally spits out a painting. Some good, found hanging on my walls, and some bad on the floor. All still with me! And then there is me standing on the right with weighing scales in my hand to show that if I look back on the past two years, a lot of money has gone in for the few pieces that were made.

Wouldnt it be fantastic if the box could take my paintings and spit out some money? More and more, I want this interest of mine to support itself. I will take notice and consider steps to bring the scale to a more balanced level. And if the attempt is unsuccessful, I will look at part time and other options. Notice that there is no talk of giving up on painting ๐Ÿ˜€

Here are a few sites that I’ll be looking to try – CafePress / Zazzle / Art.com. Etsy and ebay are not amongst these as I’m unsure of the effectiveness of the postal system here.

This piece is digital and has been made with Art Rage 2. Like the “Man with the Pipe“, I would like to make this in acrylic too.

8 thoughts on “Black Box Invention – It eats money

  1. I’m glad you added the reason for the illustration because I misunderstood. I thought it was a money making machine! I love your passion..and I think you should never give up your art! What I’ve had to do over the years is “invent” jobs I could do on my own ( like pet nursing and murals) so I’d never have to give up doing art. I’m pulling for you ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I wish ๐Ÿ˜› actually i’d like it just to make a bit. I dont want too much because that leads to another set of problems which I dont want either!! hmmm too fussy right? I think I have to come up with a few jobs too. Thanks for coming back and for the support. I could certainly use that ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Brilliant! It’s funny, but I guess I hadn’t thought about art-making and art-supply buying in quite that way and I love your funny but oh so wonderful invention!!!! I guess I’ve not really thought about art-making as an intentionally money-making proposition.

    You’ve really made me stop and think about this, and I just came to a realization: art is the whole purpose of my life so of course I’ll buy art supplies! I’ve raised my sons and I have a day job, and people I care about…but my reason for living is to be creative. That’s what makes my life meaningful. So while I do make money at art, occasionally selling a painting and by teaching, the two aren’t really connected.

    I’ll be interested to see how you do with your selling endeavors. Your work is really good so you should find an audience. (Sorry for the long post–you really got me thinking!)

  4. Jana, i think one of the reasons i feel this way is that i had a regular job and a pretty good income. a part of me misses that and yet i do not want to give up what i have now. I occasionally get twinges of guilt about sitting at home, surfing and painting. I have been doing that for the last 6 years. I do not have children so I cant even claim spending time raising them!

    I’ve reached a point where I want to have some stream of income but doing something I enjoy. I can either look at trying to make this pay for itself or do some other job to cover this. I’d rather do the first.

    Thank you for taking the time to put down your thoughts. It’s helped me to untangle a bit of my thinking ๐Ÿ˜€ Thank you.

Leave a Reply

