St. Catherine’s Monastery

St Catherine's Monastery

St. Catherine’s Monastery, in the Sinai peninsula, has been a centre for religious pilgrimages for over fifteen hundred years. My husband visited here with a friend in 2003 and came back with lots of lovely photographs. I couldnt make it as we had visitors at home. I hope to make it there someday too.

The only thing that I’m getting comfortable painting is faces. No landscapes, not even the rest of the figure. I’ve decided that I need to put in some more work in these areas. This was one of the photographs that I’d set aside. You can see a similar reference online. It’s at the bottom of the page.

The monastery looks balanced at the edge of a precipice. In reality the monastery is at the bottom of a hill. The hill where Moses is supposed to have received the 10 commandments.

6 thoughts on “St. Catherine’s Monastery

  1. Jana, thanks for stopping by. I really appreciate it. I didnt manage to go see this myself and the photographs made me drool. I need to do some more buildings and landscapes.

  2. Catherine of Alexandria was a Christian martyr initially sentenced to death on the wheel. When she was fastened to the wheel, she cried out to Jesus and her bonds were miraculously loosed and the wheel itself broke, its spikes flying off and killing some of the onlookers. She was then beheaded, angels took her remains to Mount Sinai. Around the year 800, monks from the Sinai Monastery found her remains.

    Hymn of St. Catherine.
    “O Jesus, your Lamb Catherine cries out to You with great love: ÔO my Bridegroom, I long for You in great pain, I am crucified with You, and in baptism I am buried with You. I suffer for Your sake in order to reign with You, I die for You in order to live in You. Accept me as an immaculate victim, since I am immolated for Your love’.

    The Monastery of Mt. Sinai was erected by Justinian I in 549 where tradition says is the site of the burning bush of Moses. Justinian built a castle around the monastery in 530, for the protection of the monks of the vicinity.

    The one mountain peak of Mt. Sinai is 5,014 feet above sea level, and is surrounded by massive granite walls. It is, as it were, a fortress. Many devout Christians from many countries, before and after the Crusades visit there.

Leave a Reply

