Copying Van Gogh

van gogh self portrait pastels

There’s something about his self portraits that make you want to try them out. This one was reworked on. I did another one with poster colors which I will add to this post later. I think this one was the better of the two.

I’ve somehow made him look Indian 😀   Reminds me of a character in the movie Monsoon Wedding – P.K.Dubey.  I wonder if we naturally tend to change features to resemble those that we are used to seeing.

I went through a pastel phase and this is one of 9-10 pastel pieces made in the Fab India sketch book. About 6″ by 5″.

I’m now hoping to make one just using his style.

Leave a Reply

